Interested in your project

Aug 6, 2008 at 9:20 PM
The company I work for, s2000 Field Service Solutions, develops a Windows application (and soon a Mac application) that allows service dispatchers to track work orders, employees, vendors, and also includes a full accounting package. We are currently looking to develop a standalone web server that customers can deploy to give employees the ability to view their open workorders from a web browser or mobile phone.

Your project looks absolutely perfect for powering the application. However, as I am no lawyer (and am unfamiliar with the GNU LGPL), I wanted to contact you to discuss the licensing and such. Are we allowed to commercially distribute our application without revealing our own source code, while still using your library, and how much do you charge for commercial support?

Thank you for your time,
David Brown
Web Developer
s2000 Field Service Solutions, LLC
Coordinator
Aug 7, 2008 at 7:51 AM
Hello

Yes you may use the library in a closed source project without having
to include your source code, as long as you do it under some specific
terms.

http://www.opensource.org/licenses/lgpl-2.1.php

You are mostly interested in section 5 and 6.

Well. It depends on what kind of support you want. Getting questions
answered can be done through the forum. Reporting bugs can be done
through the ticket system.
Getting those answered/fixed within a specific time range would
require commercial support (else we answer them as soon as we can,
normally within a week or less).

//Jonas

On Thu, Aug 7, 2008 at 12:54 AM, webdevguy <notifications@codeplex.com> wrote:
> From: webdevguy
>
> The company I work for, s2000 Field Service Solutions, develops a Windows
> application (and soon a Mac application) that allows service dispatchers to
> track work orders, employees, vendors, and also includes a full accounting
> package. We are currently looking to develop a standalone web server that